Gitane-St.-Raphaël K-W - Miniature cyclists


New product

Our miniature cyclists

Handpainted miniature cyclist with Gitane-St.-Raphaël jersey.

-Completely produced out of metal: bike + cyclist
-Dimensions: height 50mm x width 50mm
-Weight: 23 grams

More details

1 Item

13,97 €

Data sheet

PaintedCyclist + Wheels

More info

Jacques Anquetil

Saint-Raphael was a French team. The team was founded in 1954 with the name of Saint-Raphael-R. Geminiani-Dunlop. In 1962 it became Saint-Raphaell-Helyett-Hutchinson. In 1963 it was Saint-Raphael-Gitane-R. Geminiani. And in the last season in 1964 it became Saint-Raphael-Gitane-Dunlop. Afterwards the team continued as Ford France-Hutchinson.

An overview:
1954-1961 Saint-Raphael-R. Geminiani-Dunlop
1962-1962 Saint-Raphaell-Helyett-Hutchinson
1963-1963 Saint-Raphael-Gitane-R. Geminiani
1964-1964 Saint-Raphael-Gitane-Dunlop

The team was founded in 1954. It is sponsored by the aperitif brand Saint-Raphaël. Over the years, co-sponsors Géminiani cycli, Gitane, Dunlop, Helyett and Hutchinson also joined the team.

The team has won the three big tours, including the Tour de France three times in a row. The most important leaders were: Jacques Anquetil, Jean Stablinski, Rudi Altig, Raphaël Geminiani, Roger Rivière and Roger Walkowiak.

The other riders in front of the team: Abel Le Dudal, Alban Cauvet, Albert Dolhats, Albertus Geldermans, Anatole Novak, André Cloarec, André Delort, André Dufraisse, André Zimmermann, Arie den Hartog, Bas Maliepaard, Brian Robinson, Cees Lute, Claude Fuggi, Cor Harbers, Daniel Beaumont, Émile Carrara, Fernand Delort, François Le Her, François Mahé, Gérard Thiélin, Gilbert Bauvin, Gilbert Scodeller, Guy Claud, Guy Ignolin, Guy Thomas, Henri Belena, Hubert Bastianelli, Jacky Lepolard, Jacques Bellenger, Jacques Dupont, Jacques Simon, Jan Hugens, Jean Bourlès, Jean Brankart, Jean Graczyk, Jean Hoffman, Jean Le Lan, Jean Raynal, Jean-Claude Annaert, Jean-Claude Lebaube, Jean-Claude Lefebvre, Jo de Haan, Jo de Roo, Joseph Morvan, Louis Bergaud, Louis Cavanna, Louis Forlini, Louis Rostollan, Lucien Aimar, Luís Otaño, Marcel Buzzi, Marcel Camillo, Marcel Delattre, Marcel Janssens, Marcel Leboutte, Marcel Queheille, Maurice Gandolfo, Maurice Munter, MichelDejouhannet, Michel Diloard, Michel Grain, Michel Rousseau, Michel Stolker, Nicolas Barone, Noël Lajoie, Norbert Coreelman, Philippe Gaudrillet, Pierre Everaert, Pierre Le Don, Pierre Machiels, Pierre Polo, Raymond Elena, René Binggeli, René Fournier, René Le Don, Robert Ducard, Robert Varnajo, Roger Chaussabel, Roger Gaignard, Roger Hassenforder, Roland Lacombe, Romain Van Wijnsberghe, Seamus Elliott, Tadeusz Wierucki, Tom Simpson en Willi Altig.

The most important victories of the team:
World Championship on the road: Jean Stablinski (1962)
World cyclo-cross championship: André Dufraisse (1956, 1957 and 1958)
Bordeaux-Paris: Jo de Roo (1962)
Paris-Tours: Jo de Roo (1962 and 1963)
Tour of Lombardy: Jo de Roo (1962 and 1963)
Paris-Brussels: Jean Stablinski (1963)
Tour of Flanders: Rudi Altig (1964)
Gent-Wevelgem: Jacques Anquetil (1964)
Midi Libre: Jean-Pierre Schmitz (1957), Jean Brankart (1959) and Michel Stolker (1962)
Tour de Luxembourg: Gérard Saint (1957) and Jean-Pierre Schmitz (1958)
Tour of Romandie: Gilbert Bauvin (1958)
Paris-Nice: Jacques Anquetil (1963)
Dauphiné libéré: Jacques Anquetil (1963)
Paris-Luxembourg: Rudi Altig (1963) and Arie den Hartog (1964)
Tour of the future: André Zimmermann (1963)
Championship of France on the road: Jean Stablinski (1962, 1963 and 1964)
Championship of France cyclo-cross: André Dufraisse (1956, 1957, 1958, 1961, 1962 and 1963)
general classification Tour de France: Jacques Anquenil (1962, 1963 and 1964)
Points classification Tour de France: Rudi Altig (1962)
Team classification Tour de France: 1962 and 1963
Giro general classification: Jacques Anquetil (1964)
Giro mountain classification: Jean Brankart (1958)
Team classification Giro: 1964
Vuelta general classification: Rudi Altig (1962)
Vuelta general classification: Jacques Anquetil (1963)
Points classification Vuelta: Rudi Altig (1962) and Bas Maliepaard (1963)
Vuelta team classification: 1962 and 1963

The team won 20 stages in the Tour de France, 3 stage wins in the Tour of Italy and 19 stage wins in the Tour of Spain.

Jacques Anquetil
The Frenchman Jacques Anquetil was a professional cyclist from 1953 to 1969. He was the first to win the Tour de France five times (1957 and 1961-1964).

Already in his first professional year the 19-year-old Norman won the Nations Time Trial GP for the legendary Fausto Coppi. In his career, Anquetil won the most important race against the clock nine times (1953-1958, 1961, 1965, 1966). In 1956, Anquetil beat Fausto Coppi's 14-year world hour record to more than 46 kilometres.

In 1957 Anquetil started in the Tour de France for the first time and immediately won the most important stage race in the world with an impressive lead of almost 15 minutes. He won four stages. The key to his success was also his very good time trials. That is why people gave him the nickname "Monsieur Chrono". But also in the mountains Anquetil could follow the best climbers.

After three mediocre years without Tour success, Anquetil returned in 1961 with his second overall victory. He won the Tour de France four times in a row until 1964 and was also the first to achieve a total of five successes. In this period Anquetil won all time trials, except one. In 1963 he was named Sportsman of the Year by the sports newspaper L'Équipe.

His last tour victory in 1964 was also his most well-known victory. His elbow duel with the public favourite Raymond Poulidor in the Puy de Dôme is part of the French sports history. Because he cleverly concealed his exhaustion on the mountain from his competitor, Poulidor attacked too late. In Paris, Jacques Anquetil is 55 seconds ahead of the "eternal second" Poulidor.

Anquetil was the first of only six riders to win all three Grand Tours. In addition to his five tour victories (like Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain), he won twice the Giro d'Italia (1960, 1964) and once the Vuelta a España (1963).

Anquetil was not very successful in the classic one-day races. At the end of his career he did win the classics Liege-Bastogne-Liege (1966), Bordeaux-Paris (1965) and Ghent-Wevelgem (1964). At the 1966 World Road Championship he finished second behind Rudi Altig. But rumour says that out of vanity he didn't show up at the prize ceremony.

He confessed that in 1966 and 1967 he tried to improve his performance by taking amphetamines, caffeine and cortisone. Subsequently, the 1967 world time record he set was not recognized by the International Cycling Union (UCI).

At the age of 36 he finished his cycling career in 1970. Despite his great successes, which made him one of the biggest riders ever, the cool "Maître Jacques" was never as popular as his French compatriot and rival Poulidor.

Overview of his teams:
1953: La Française-Dunlop
1954-1955: La Perle-Hutchinson
1956-1957: Bianchi-Pirelli
1956-1961: Helyett
1962–1964: Saint Raphael
1965-1966: Ford France
1967-1969: Bic

Discover our other miniature cyclists as well.


Customers who bought this product also bought: