Polka-dot jersey K-W - Miniature cyclists View larger

Polka-dot jersey K-W - Miniature cyclists


New product

Our miniature cyclists

Handpainted miniature cyclist with polka-dot jersey.

-Completely produced out of metal: bike + cyclist
-Dimensions: height 50mm x width 50mm
-Weight: 23 grams

More details

14 Items

13,97 €

Data sheet

PaintedCyclist + Wheels

More info

The mountain classification in the tour de France is a side classification. The points for this can be earned at the passage on a mountain top. The rider who has collected the most points is the leader in the mountain classification and is allowed to wear the polka dot jersey. After the last stage, the final winner of the mountain classification is declared the King of the Mountains.

The climbs where points can be earned for the mountain classification are divided into 5 categories: Outside category (e.g. Alpe d'Huez or Mont Ventoux), first category, second category, third category and fourth category.

The polka dot jersey was introduced in 1975. In the years before, there was no jersey for the mountain king. The first rider to wear the polka dot jersey was Joop Zoetemelk. The first winner of the polka dot jersey was Lucien Van Impe. The record holder in the number of final wins of the polka dot jersey is Richard Virenque. He won 7 times (in 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2003 and 2004). The Spaniard Federico Bahamontes and the Belgian Lucien Van Impe each won him 6 times.

Every year there is also a "roof" in the Tour. That's the highest peak in the round. A Trophy Henri Desgrange is awarded to the rider who reaches this top first. The trophy is named after the founder of the Tour de France. The highest peak is usually the col du Galibier or the col du Tourmalet. On the Galibier there is also a monument in honour of Desgrange.

Winners of the mountain classification:

1933  Vicente Trueba
1934  René Vietto
1935  Félicien Vervaecke
1936  Julián Berrendero
1937  Félicien Vervaecke
1938  Gino Bartali
1939  Sylvère Maes
1947  Pierre Brambilla
1948  Gino Bartali
1949  Fausto Coppi
1950  Louison Bobet
1951  Raphaël Geminiani
1952  Fausto Coppi
1953  Jesús Loroño
1954  Federico Bahamontes
1955  Charly Gaul
1956  Charly Gaul
1957  Gastone Nencini
1958  Federico Bahamontes
1959  Federico Bahamontes
1960  Imerio Massignan
1961  Imerio Massignan
1962  Federico Bahamontes
1963  Federico Bahamontes
1964  Federico Bahamontes
1965  Julio Jiménez
1966  Julio Jiménez
1967  Julio Jiménez
1968  Aurelio Gonzalez
1969  Eddy Merckx
1970  Eddy Merckx
1971  Lucien Van Impe
1972  Lucien Van Impe
1973  Pedro Torres
1974  Domingo Perurena

Winners of the polka-dot jersey:

1975  Lucien Van Impe
1976  Giancarlo Bellini
1977  Lucien Van Impe
1978  Mariano Martínez
1979  Giovanni Battaglin
1980  Raymond Martin
1981  Lucien Van Impe
1982  Bernard Vallet
1983  Lucien Van Impe
1984  Robert Millar
1985  Luis Herrera
1986  Bernard Hinault
1987  Luis Herrera
1988  Steven Rooks
1989  Gert-Jan Theunisse
1990  Thierry Claveyrolat
1991  Claudio Chiappucci
1992  Claudio Chiappucci
1993  Tony Rominger
1994  Richard Virenque
1995  Richard Virenque
1996  Richard Virenque
1997  Richard Virenque
1998  Christophe Rinero
1999  Richard Virenque
2000  Santiago Botero
2001  Laurent Jalabert
2002  Laurent Jalabert
2003  Richard Virenque
2004  Richard Virenque
2005  Michael Rasmussen
2006  Michael Rasmussen
2007  Mauricio Soler
2008  Carlos Sastre
2009  Franco Pellizotti
2010  Anthony Charteau
2011  Samuel Sánchez
2012  Thomas Voeckler
2013  Nairo Quintana
2014  Rafał Majka
2015  Chris Froome
2016  Rafał Majka
2017  Warren Barguil
2018  Julian Alaphilippe
2019 Romain Bardet
2020  Tadej Pogacar

Discover all our miniature cyclists.


Customers who bought this product also bought: