Yellow jersey K-W - Miniature cyclists


New product

Our miniature cyclists

Handpainted miniature cyclist with yellow jersey.

-Completely produced out of metal: bike + cyclist
-Dimensions: height 50mm x width 50mm
-Weight: 23 grams

More details

5 Items

13,97 €

Data sheet

PaintedCyclist + Wheels

More info

The yellow jersey is the shirt in which the leader of the general classification of the Tour de France rides.

Henri Desgrange is the founder of the Tour de France. He always tried to make the race more attractive. At the same time, he wanted to generate more turnover for his newspaper l'Auto. An example to make the race more interesting was the introduction of a leader's jersey. This made it possible to recognise the leader of the general classification. The first yellow jersey was awarded during the Tour of 1919. The first one to wear the yellow jersey was Eugène Christophe. The first winner, who was allowed to put on the jersey in Paris, was Firmin Lambot. The yellow was chosen because l'Auto, the organizing newspaper, was printed on yellow paper. Getting a yellow jersey is a great honour for many riders, even if the General classification is not won.

After the introduction of the yellow jersey for the general classification, other jerseys were introduced. The polka dot jersey came for the leader in the mountain classification, the green jersey for the points classification, and the white jersey for the youth classification. Afterwards, other major stage races such as the Tour of Italy and the Tour of Spain also introduced a leader's jersey.

In 1935 Romain Maes won the Tour de France. He wore the yellow jersey every day. In 1961 Jacques Anquetil also won the Tour in this way. The record holder is Eddy Merckx. In his career he has received the most yellow jerseys in the Tour. He was allowed to wear the yellow jersey no less than 96 times.
However, the yellow jersey did not always bring luck. The first yellow jersey wearer, the Frenchman Eugène Christophe was not satisfied with his jersey. He thought that his opponents would recognize him too easily.
In 1937, the Belgian team did not start a few stages before Paris in protest because the jury was not fair. Too bad for Sylvere Maes because he had the yellow jersey and would almost certainly have won the Tour.
In 1950 Fiorenzo Magni left the Tour in yellow after incidents with supporters. The entire Italian team followed him. 
In 1951 Wim van Est fell with the yellow jersey in the descent from the Col d'Aubisque into the ravine. He had to give up.
In 1971 Eddy Merckx refused to wear the yellow jersey after Luis Ocaña, who was the leader of the general classification at the time, gave up. Luis Ocaña had fallen badly.
In 1980 Bernard Hinault gave up after a time trial in Pau. Earlier that day he had won the yellow jersey. Joop Zoetemelk refused to start the next day in yellow.
In 1983 Pascal Simon broke his shoulder blade in the yellow jersey. However, he continued a few more days.
In 1998, yellow jersey Chris Boardman fell. He had to give up with a concussion.
In 2007 Michael Rasmussen won a mountain stage in the yellow jersey. After his arrival he was expelled from the race due to the accusation of doping.
In 2015 yellow jersey wearer Fabian Cancellara was involved in a crash, and was badly injured. He had to leave the Tour. In the same Tour, yellow jersey Tony Martin broke his collarbone and also had to stop the fight. Chris Froome, who had to take over Martin's jersey, didn't wear it in the next stage.

The winners of the Tour de France:
1903 Maurice Garin 
1904 Henri Cornet
1905 Louis Trousselier
1906 René Pottier
1907 Lucien Petit-Breton
1908 Lucien Petit-Breton
1909 François Faber
1910 Octave Lapize
1911 Gustave Garrigou
1912 Odiel Defraeye
1913 Philippe Thys
1914 Philippe Thys
1915 - 1918: afgelast 
1919 Firmin Lambot
1920 Philippe Thys
1921 Léon Scieur
1922 Firmin Lambot
1923 Henri Pélissier
1924 Ottavio Bottecchia
1925 Ottavio Bottecchia
1926 Lucien Buysse
1927 Nicolas Frantz
1928 Nicolas Frantz
1929 Maurice De Waele
1930 André Leducq
1931 Antonin Magne
1932 André Leducq
1933 Georges Speicher
1934 Antonin Magne
1935 Romain Maes
1936 Sylvère Maes
1937 Roger Lapébie
1938 Gino Bartali
1939 Sylvère Maes
1940 - 1946: afgelast 
1947 Jean Robic
1948 Gino Bartali
1949 Fausto Coppi
1950 Ferdi Kübler
1951 Hugo Koblet
1952 Fausto Coppi
1953 Louison Bobet
1954 Louison Bobet
1955 Louison Bobet
1956 Roger Walkowiak
1957 Jacques Anquetil
1958 Charly Gaul
1959 Federico Bahamontes
1960 Gastone Nencini
1961 Jacques Anquetil
1962 Jacques Anquetil
1963 Jacques Anquetil
1964 Jacques Anquetil
1965 Felice Gimondi
1966 Lucien Aimar
1967 Roger Pingeon
1968 Jan Janssen
1969 Eddy Merckx
1970 Eddy Merckx
1971 Eddy Merckx
1972 Eddy Merckx
1973 Luis Ocaña
1974 Eddy Merckx
1975 Bernard Thévenet
1976 Lucien Van Impe
1977 Bernard Thévenet
1978 Bernard Hinault
1979 Bernard Hinault
1980 Joop Zoetemelk
1981 Bernard Hinault
1982 Bernard Hinault
1983 Laurent Fignon
1984 Laurent Fignon
1985 Bernard Hinault
1986 Greg LeMond
1987 Stephen Roche
1988 Pedro Delgado
1989 Greg LeMond
1990 Greg LeMond
1991 Miguel Indurain
1992 Miguel Indurain
1993 Miguel Indurain
1994 Miguel Indurain
1995 Miguel Indurain
1996 Bjarne Riis
1997 Jan Ullrich
1998 Marco Pantani
1999 Lance Armstrong
2000 Lance Armstrong
2001 Lance Armstrong
2002 Lance Armstrong
2003 Lance Armstrong
2004 Lance Armstrong
2005 Lance Armstrong
2006 Óscar Pereiro Sio
2007 Alberto Contador
2008 Carlos Sastre
2009 Alberto Contador
2010 Andy Schleck
2011 Cadel Evans
2012 Bradley Wiggins
2013 Chris Froome
2014 Vincenzo Nibali
2015 Chris Froome
2016 Chris Froome
2017 Chris Froome
2018 Geraint Thomas
2019 Egan Bernal
2020 Tadej Pogacar

Discover all our miniature cyclists.


Customers who bought this product also bought: