Green jersey K-W - Miniature cyclists View larger

Green jersey K-W - Miniature cyclists


New product

Our miniature cyclists

Handpainted miniature cyclist with green jersey.

-Completely produced out of metal: bike + cyclist
-Dimensions: height 50mm x width 50mm
-Weight: 23 grams

More details

8 Items

13,97 €

Data sheet

PaintedCyclist + Wheels

More info

In the Tour de France there is a points classification. This is a side classification in which the riders can earn points per stage, depending on their classification in that stage. This side classification was introduced in 1953. The leader of the points classification wears the green jersey. The green colour was chosen because the sponsor was a lawnmower manufacturer. However, in 1968 there was an exception. Then the jersey was red instead of green because of the sponsor that year.

In the Tour from 1905 till 1911 there was a different points system. Penalty points were handed out based on classification and time. Whoever had the least points, won. More points could be earned in flat stages than in time trials and mountain stages. In most editions there were also bonification seconds to be earned. Thanks to these extra seconds a sprinter could also take the yellow jersey in the first stages of the Tour.

The Dutchman Wout Wagtmans was the first rider to wear the green jersey in 1953.

The first winner was Swiss Fritz Schär. He had the green jersey on the podium in Paris. The record holder in the number of final wins in the points classification is Peter Sagan. He won the jersey 7 times. The German rider Erik Zabel won the green jersey 6 times. 4 times the winner of the green jersey was also the final winner of the yellow jersey. Once it was Bernard Hinault, and 3 times it was Eddy Merckx. The green jersey is generally for the most regular sprinter; not always to the fastest sprinter in the Tour. Thor Hushovd won the green jersey in 2005 without winning a single stage.

Winners of the green jersey:

1953 Fritz Schär
1954 Ferdi Kübler
1955 Stan Ockers
1956 Stan Ockers
1957 Jean Forestier
1958 Jean Graczyk
1959 André Darrigade
1960 Jean Graczyk
1961 André Darrigade
1962 Rudi Altig
1963 Rik Van Looy
1964 Jan Janssen
1965 Jan Janssen
1966 Willy Planckaert
1967 Jan Janssen
1968 Franco Bitossi
1969 Eddy Merckx
1970 Walter Godefroot
1971 Eddy Merckx
1972 Eddy Merckx
1973 Herman Van Springel
1974 Patrick Sercu
1975 Rik Van Linden
1976 Freddy Maertens
1977 Jacques Esclassan
1978 Freddy Maertens
1979 Bernard Hinault
1980 Rudy Pevenage
1981 Freddy Maertens
1982 Seán Kelly
1983 Seán Kelly
1984 Frank Hoste
1985 Seán Kelly
1986 Eric Vanderaerden
1987 Jean-Paul van Poppel
1988 Eddy Planckaert
1989 Seán Kelly
1990 Olaf Ludwig
1991 Djamolidin Abdoezjaparov
1992 Laurent Jalabert
1993 Djamolidin Abdoezjaparov
1994 Djamolidin Abdoezjaparov
1995 Laurent Jalabert
1996 Erik Zabel
1997 Erik Zabel
1998 Erik Zabel
1999 Erik Zabel
2000 Erik Zabel
2001 Erik Zabel
2002 Robbie McEwen
2003 Baden Cooke
2004 Robbie McEwen
2005 Thor Hushovd
2006 Robbie McEwen
2007 Tom Boonen
2008 Óscar Freire
2009 Thor Hushovd
2010 Alessandro Petacchi
2011 Mark Cavendish
2012 Peter Sagan
2013 Peter Sagan
2014 Peter Sagan
2015 Peter Sagan
2016 Peter Sagan
2017 Michael Matthews
2018 Peter Sagan
2019 Peter Sagan
2020 Sam Bennett

Discover our other miniature cyclists.


Customers who bought this product also bought: