PDM K-W - Miniature cyclists View larger

PDM K-W - Miniature cyclists


New product

Our miniature cyclists

Handpainted miniature cyclist with PDM jersey.

-Completely produced out of metal: bike + cyclist
-Dimensions: height 50mm x width 50mm
-Weight: 23 grams

More details

23 Items

13,97 €

Data sheet

PaintedCyclist + Wheels

More info

Gert-Jan Theunisse and Steven Rooks

PDM was a Dutch cycling team from 1986 until the end of 1992. The team was sponsored by Philips Dupont Magnetics, a joint venture between the electronics company Philips and the chemical company DuPont. The PDM video cassettes were advertised on the jerseys. The team rode with Italian Concorde bikes. Roy Schuiten was team manager and Jan Gisbers was sports director in 1986. The following year, Gisbers took over as team manager and was in charge until 1992. He was accompanied by Piet van der Kruijs and Ferdi van den Haute.

The well known riders in the team:
Adri van der Poel, Andreas Walzer, Andy Bishop, Atle Pedersen, Dag Erik Pedersen, Danny Nelissen, David Akam, Dirk De Wolf, Erik Breukink, Falk Boden, Frank Kersten, Fritz Van Bindsbergen, Gerard Veldscholten, Gerhard Zadrobilek, Gerrie Knetemann, Gert Jakobs, Gert-Jan Theunisse, Greg LeMond, Hans Daams, Hans Langerijs, Harald Maier, Henk Boeve, Hennie Stamsnijder, Henri Manders, Jan Siemons, Jan Van Wijk, Jans Koerts, Jean-Paul van Poppel, Johannes Draaijer, John Talen, John Van den Akker, John Vos, Jonathan Boyer, Jörg Müller, Jörg Müller, Jos van Aert, José Martinez, Kai Hundertmarck, Maarten den Bakker, Marc Dierickx, Marc Van Orsouw, Mariano Magdaleno, Mario Kummer, Martin Earley, Martin Hendriks, Nico Verhoeven, Pedro Delgado, Peter Hoondert, Peter Stevenhaagen, Peter Van Petegem, Raúl Alcalá, René Beuker, Rudy Dhaenens, Sean Kelly, Stefan Mutter, Steven Rooks, Thomas Dürst, Tom Cordes, Uwe Ampler, Uwe Raab, Vincent Barteau and Wim Arras.

The team was successful in the classics and finished second in the general classification of the Tour de France in 1987 with Pedro Delgado and 1988 with Steven Rooks. Erik Breukink was also on the podium with a third place in 1990. The team won the Tour team classification in 1988 and 1989.

In the Tour de France of 1991 the team quit the race after the riders got a food poisoning. At least that was the official story of the team management. Years later, it was suggested that team doctor Wim Sanders supplied the team with anabolic steroids and EPO and was responsible for the affair in the Tour de France of 1991. The team went one more year, after which the sponsor sold the team to Festina.

The co-sponsors:
1986-1989 PDM-Ultima-Concorde
1990-1991 PDM-Concorde-Ultima
1992-1992 PDM-Ultima-Concorde

Important victories of the team:
1986 Tour of the Netherlands (Gerrie Knetemann)
1986 Amstel Gold Race (Steven Rooks)
1987 Dutch cycling championship (Adrie van der Poel)
1987 Paris-Brussels (Wim Arras)
1987 Paris-Tours (Adrie van der Poel)
1988 Zurich Championship (Steven Rooks)
1988 Clasica San Sebastian (Gert-Jan Theunisse)
1988 Liege-Bastogne-Liege (Adrie van der Poel)
1989 World Cup (Seán Kelly)
1989 Points classification Tour de France (Seán Kelly)
1989 Liège-Bastogne-Liège (Seán Kelly)
1990 Tour of Switzerland (Seán Kelly)
1990 World cycling championship (Rudy Dhaenens)
1991 GP Eddy Merckx (Erik Breukink)
1992 Clasica San Sebastian (Raúl Alcalá)
1992 GP of Wallonia (Danny Nelissen)

Gert-Jan Theunisse
Dutchman Gert-Jan Theunisse won the mountain classification in the Tour de France in 1989. Theunisse started his professional career in 1984 at Panasonic. In the Tour de France of 1988 he challenged his former teammate Pedro Delgado. However, he tested positive for testosterone and was fined 10 minutes, which brought him down from fourth to eleventh place in the general classification. Theunisse returned in 1989 and won the mountain classification and the stage to Alpe d'Huez. In 1990 he tested positive again in the the Walloon Arrow. In 1995 he stopped his career because of heart problems. After his career he became supervisor and also team manager of mountainbiker Bart Brentjens. Brentjens won the Dutch national championship, the world championship, the World Cup, the Tour de France VTT and also gold at the Olympic Games.

Steven Rooks
The Dutchman Steven Rooks was known for his climbing skills. He was a pro from 1982 to 1995. In the Tour de France of 1988 Rooks finished second and won a stage with arrival at L'Alpe d'Huez. He won the polka dot jersey for the mountain classification and also the combination classification. In the Tour of 1989 Rooks won the 15th stage, a 39 km long mountain time trial to Orcières-Merlette; that year he finished seventh and again he won the combination classification. Other victories are Liege-Bastogne-Liege in 1983, the Amstel Gold Race in 1986 and the 1991 and 1994 national championships.

Rudy Dhaenens
The quiet Belgian Rudy Dhaenens is best known for winning the 1990 World Championship in Utsunomiya, Japan. Dhaenens excelled several times in classics such as Paris-Roubaix, and achieved many places of honour. But there were no big victories. He was often confronted with bad luck. A flat tire in the finals or a crash. But that day in 1990 in the World Championship everything went perfect. Dhaenens escaped from the peloton together with his compatriot Dirk Dewolf and the 2 sprinted for the victory. He won the race and was allowed to wear the rainbow jersey for one year. In 1992 Dhaenens had to stop his career because of heart problems. He died in 1998, at the age of 36, after a car accident.

Discover our other miniature cyclists as well.