Carrera - Miniature racing cyclists


New product

Our miniature racing cyclists

Handpainted miniature cyclist with Carrera jersey.

-Completely produced out of metal: bike + cyclist
-Dimensions: height 50mm x width 50mm
-Weight: 23 grams

More details

7 Items

12,31 €

Data sheet


More info

Stephen Roche

Carrera, initially known as Inoxpran, was an Italian professional cycling team, active between 1979 and 1996. The team was led by Davide Boifava. In 1993 Davide Boifava stopped as team manager and it was Giuseppe Martinelli who took over. The sponsor Carrera is an Italian jeans manufacturer. Since 1987 the name Carrera was replaced by Carrera Jeans. The team won the team three tours of Italy, one Tour de France and one Vuelta a España, as well as numerous classic and short stage races. In 1996 Carrera stopped as a sponsor, when Martinelli took most of the team to the Mercatone Uno team.

The most famous riders of Carrera were:
Acácio da Silva Mora (1989-1990), Andrea Tafi (1992-1993), Beat Zberg (1993-1996), Bruno Leali (1984-1988), Christian Henn (1989-1991), Claudio Chiappucci (1985-1996), Djamolidin Abdoesjaparov (1991-1992), Enrico Zaina (1989-1991, 1995-1996), Erich Mächler (1985-1991), Filippo Simeoni (1994-1996), Guido Bontempi (1984-1993), Johan van der Velde (1989), Marco Pantani (1992-1996), Markus Zberg (1996), Massimo Ghirotto (1985-1992), Peter Luttenberger (1994-1996), Roberto Visentini (1984-1988), Rolf Sørensen (1993), Stephen Roche (1986-1987, 1992-1993) and Vladimir Poelnikov (1991-1994).

The Inoxpran team started at the beginning of the 1979 season thanks to the investment of the Prandelli brothers, owners in Bovezzo of the company with the same name of steel cutlery and pots. The new formation was entrusted to the young sports director Davide Boifava, who had just stopped as a professional rider the previous season.

The best known riders in the team were Giacinto Santambrogio, Giovanni Battaglin and the young Bruno Leali. Battaglin won the mountain classification in the Tour de France in 1979 and in 1981 the double with the final victory in both the Giro d'Italia and the Vuelta a España.
Roberto Visentini, who joined the team in the 1983 season, also had a Important role in the Giro. He finished second in the 1983 Giro.

Carrera Jeans
In 1984, the Veronese clothing company Carrera Jeans took over as main sponsor. In the new jersey sprinter Guido Bontempi won Ghent-Wevelgem that year. He repeated that victory in 1986, the season in which he also won five stages and the points classification in the Giro d'Italia. In the 1986 Giro the leader of Carrera Visentini won the prestigious general classification before champions like Giuseppe Saronni, Francesco Moser and Greg LeMond.

1986 was also the first year in the team of Stephen Roche. The year before he was third in the Tour de France and was therefor designated as leader of the Tour. Roche did not have a good debut season, but he did better in 1987. In spring his teammate Erich Mächler won Milan-Sanremo. And Roche himself won the tour of Romandie, and was in good shape for the Giro. There was rivalry in the team between Roche and Visentini. The Irishman did better and won the Giro, and a few months later surprisingly also the Tour de France. After these two successes Carrera wouldn't win either the Giro d'Italia or the Tour de France. Roche left the team after 1987, when he also became world champion. He moved to the Fagor-MBK team. After that he returned to Carrera at the age of 33 to ride his last pro seasons (1992 and 1993).

After the departure of Roche in 1987, the Italian Claudio Chiappucci became the leader. In the Tour de France 1990 he ended second, the year after third, and in 1992 again second. In 1991 and 1992 he won, just like Battaglin in 1979, the polka dot jersey as best climber. In the Giro d'Italia "Diablo" was on the podium three times (second in 1991 and 1992, third in 1993) and he won three times the green jersey of the mountain classification (1990, 1992, 1993). He also won the purple jersey of the points classification once (1991). In 1991 he also won Milan-San Remo and in 1993 the Clásica San Sebastián. In the meantime, in 1989 Boifava, together with team mechanic Luciano Bracchi, founded Carrera Podium, a cycling company that started to provide the team with frames.

In the early nineties the young Marco Pantani was one of the best riders. In the 1994 season "Il Pirata" was on the podium in the Giro d'Italia (second) and in the Tour de France (third). He also won the white jersey of the best youngster in the Tour. At the end of the 1996 season, when Enrico Zaina finished second in the Giro d'Italia, Carrera retired as a sponsor. Ten riders, including Pantani, moved to Mercatone Uno, the new formation of Giuseppe Martinelli.

Five riders, including Chiappucci and Zaina, followed Davide Boifava to the new team Asics.
Overview of the sponsors of the team:
1979-1981 Inoxpran
1982-1982 Inoxpran Pentole Posate
1983-1983 Inoxpran-Lumenflon
1984-1986 Carrera-Inoxpran (until April)
1986-1992 Carrera-Vagabond (from April)
1993-1995 Carrera-Tassoni
1996-1996 Carrera-Longoni Sport

Most important victories of the team:
Mountain classification Tour de France: Chiappucci in 1991
Mountain classification Tour de France: Chiappucci in 1993
Classica San Sebastian: Chiappucci in 1993
E3 Flanders Prize: Bontempi in 1988
general classification Tour de France: Roche in 1987
general classification Tour of the Basque Country: Chiappucci in 1991
general classification Tour of Italy: Roche in 1987
general classification Tour of Italy: Visentini in 1986
general classification Tour de Romandie: Roche in 1987
Tirreno-Adriatico general classification: Mächler in 1988
Gent-Wevelgem: Bontempi in 1984
Gent-Wevelgem: Bontempi in 1986
GP Pino Cerami: Sciandri in 1990
Italian Championship on the road: Leali in 1987
Youth classification Tour de France: Pantani in 1994
Youth classification Tour de France: Pantani in 1995
Liege-Bastogne-Liege: Sorensen in 1993
Milan-San Remo: Chiappucci in 1991
Milan-San Remo: Mächler in 1987
Paris-Brussels: Bontempi in 1986
Points classification Tour of Spain: Abdoeshaparov in 1992
Rund um den Henninger Turm: Beat Zberg in 1996
Rund um den Henninger Turm: Sorensen in 1993
World Championship on the road: Roche in 1987

Discover our other miniature cyclists as well.


Customers who bought this product also bought: